The Inspiration Behind It

Working as a Registered Dental Hygienist I found there was a need for an educational resource among young families.  Children demanded trust and knowledge from me as their health care provider.  Over time and regular preventative appointments that trust was built between us.  The children enjoyed their appointments and looked forward to them, as did I.  They were comfortable with me and the procedures we completed together at their checkup and cleaning appointment.    This resonates to the parents as well.  Happy child, happy parents, happy Dental Hygienist.

In my experience, to build that trust the children had to be treated with respect.  I would honour my patients and the time we spent together.  I would educate them.  No surprises- I explained exactly what we were going to do at their appointment, I explained how it would feel, and what we would accomplish by doing these things.  By taking the time to communicate to a child what you are doing, the more receptive they are.

Years ago I strongly felt we needed an educational resource for children.  I looked at many books about dentists and teeth but most seemed irrational or just missed the point completely.  What children and parents need is a reliable, fun guide for what to expect when they arrive for their preventative appointment.  The more educated a child can be about their appointment, the more familiar they will be with the procedures and the more comfortable they will be receiving oral health care.  

I could not find what I was looking for so I decided to write a series of short stories.  Over the years I slowly did the research and editing I needed to do.  I found a fabulous illustrator.  The longer I worked as a Registered Dental Hygienist the more I yearned to make this book series happen.  The passion I feel for this project resonates through and now it is happening.  Teddy Visits the Dentist is now available!  

I ask you to please educate your children, your nieces and nephews, grandkids, your friends and neighbours, your students, your patients…whomever they may be  to you, please touch the life of a child by informing them about their oral health.

www.createspace.com/3582005  www.amazon.com/author/elizabethmahadeo Image

